Taking centrum tablets
Fatwa No: 354118

  • Fatwa Date:31-12-2017 - Rabee' Al-Aakhir 13, 1439
  • Rating:


Assalaamu alaykum. I asked you about centrum and whether it is halal or not, but I could not clearly understand your answer. You told us that if it contains gelatin, but there are two types of gelatin. However, there is no mension on the bottle of centrum or their website which kind of gelatin is dissolved in it and whether it is derived from pork or plants. Kindly do some reseach on it; and kindly let us know rather than having us avoid using this tablet. May Allaah reward you.


All perfect praise be to Allah, the Lord of the worlds. I testify that there is none worthy of worship except Allah and that Muhammad  sallallaahu  `alayhi  wa  sallam ( may  Allaah exalt his mention ) is His slave and Messenger. 

First of all, we thank you for contacting us.

We remind you that it is not our specialization to know the ingredients of vitamins and the like, so we apologize for not answering your question. You may consult the specialists in this field.

Our specialization is our previous answer to you (by referring you to fatwa 85683), which is a general clarification on the ruling of consuming goods that contain gelatin – as it is mentioned that that vitamin contains gelatin.

Allah knows best.

Related Fatwa